Last Call for Council Nominations And Bylaw Review

Last Call for Council Nominations And Bylaw Review

Community Council: Craig Woodward

2012-09-26 23:52 UTC
The nomination period for Council and the Board of the new Foundation are ending in [just under 48 hours][1].  To date we have had NO submissions for Council and only two for the Board.  If there's no interest in keeping Maemo.org going, ignore this and it very well may go away.

 

Also, what may be the final version of the bylaws ([version 5][2]) has been posted on the TMO thread where there's been a lively discussion going on.  For those involved in that, thank you.  For those who would like to check them out and comment, please hit the link.

[1]: http://maemo.org/community/council/maemo_elections-september_2012/
[2]: http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?p=1272724#post1272724

URL: http://maemo.org/community/council/last_call_for_council_nominations_and_bylaw_review/
  •  Reply

Re: Last Call for Council Nominations And Bylaw Review

Luke Dashjr
Karma: 38
2012-09-27 00:28 UTC
If all that's needed are names and maybe an occasional "voice", feel free to
put me down... but I don't really have time to deal with any more
responsibilities right now.

Luke


On Wednesday, September 26, 2012 11:52:56 PM Community Council: Craig Woodward
wrote:
> The nomination period for Council and the Board of the new Foundation are
> ending in [just under 48 hours][1]. To date we have had NO submissions
> for Council and only two for the Board. If there's no interest in keeping
> Maemo.org going, ignore this and it very well may go away.
>
>
>
> Also, what may be the final version of the bylaws ([version 5][2]) has been
> posted on the TMO thread where there's been a lively discussion going on.
> For those involved in that, thank you. For those who would like to check
> them out and comment, please hit the link.
>
> [1]: http://maemo.org/community/council/maemo_elections-september_2012/
> [2]: http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?p=1272724#post1272724
>
> URL:
> http://maemo.org/community/council/last_call_for_council_nominations_and_b
> ylaw_review/ _______________________________________________
> maemo-community mailing list
> maemo-community@maemo.org
> https://lists.maemo.org/mailman/listinfo/maemo-community
  •  Reply

Re: Last Call for Council Nominations And Bylaw Review

claude bucher
Karma: 347
2012-09-27 00:48 UTC
if there are no candidates, is it possible to keep the same Council?
i'm not sure whether the absence of candidates is a proof of disinterest.
it could also be that members are somehow scared of the uncertainty around
Maemo / MeeGo, right now?

if that's any help, i'm willing to step up and assist the Council more with
whatever errands are needed.
i'm not a dev, thus don't expect me to maintain packages / repositories or
that kind of stuff :-\



--
View this message in context: http://maemo-community-mailing-lists.2589537.n2.nabble.com/Last-Call-for-Council-Nominations-And-Bylaw-Review-tp7580478p7580480.html
Sent from the maemo-community mailing list archive at Nabble.com.
  •  Reply

Re: Last Call for Council Nominations And Bylaw Review

Andrew Flegg
Karma: 3340
2012-09-27 06:49 UTC
Hi,

If there are no candidates, thr election period is eztended by a month. If there are still insufficient candidates, it's up to the outgoong council and the Nokia Community Manager (assuming we still have one) to decide how to proceed. At that point they can do anything they want.

HTH,

Andrew

--
Andrew Flegg | mailto:andrew@bleb.org -- http://www.bleb.org/On 27/09/2012 1:48 misterc wrote:
if there are no candidates, is it possible to keep the same Council?
i'm not sure whether the absence of candidates is a proof of disinterest.
it could also be that members are somehow scared of the uncertainty around
Maemo / MeeGo, right now?

if that's any help, i'm willing to step up and assist the Council more with
whatever errands are needed.
i'm not a dev, thus don't expect me to maintain packages / repositories or
that kind of stuff :-\



--
View this message in context: http://maemo-community-mailing-lists.2589537.n2.nabble.com/Last-Call-for-Council-Nominations-And-Bylaw-Review-tp7580478p7580480.html
Sent from the maemo-community mailing list archive at Nabble.com.

  •  Reply

Re: Last Call for Council Nominations And Bylaw Review

Piotr Jawidzyk
Karma: 957
2012-09-27 07:42 UTC
On czw 27 wrz 2012 08:49:20 CEST, andrew@bleb.org wrote:

> Hi,
>
> If there are no candidates, thr election period is eztended by a month.
> If there are still insufficient candidates, it's up to the outgoong
> council and the Nokia Community Manager (assuming we still have one) to
> decide how to proceed. At that point they can do anything they want.
>
> HTH,
>
> Andrew

Personally, I see lack of candidates for Maemo Council as obvious thing - after all, we're going to have Board of Directors, which, for all intents and purposes, is Council with elevated permissions (powers). Of course, I'm talking about practice, not theory, and I'm pretty sure, that most people see BoD as continuation of Council, with different rules, due to self-governing.

That part is OK, and I'm not criticizing it. What I'm sceptical about, is keeping Council at all - as separate, strange, powerless "something". It's still unclear, what do we need such "castrated" Council for - and lack of candidates seems, that I'm not alone having such doubts. BTW, to be understood correctly - I don't have anything against Council as *name* - in fact, I've even proposed to keep Council as name for group of person, that will be BoD now (for historical reasons - but, such proposition haven't meet approval). Now, I'm writing *only* about propositions for "future" Councils.

AFAIK, we don't have too much helping hands on board. "Wasting" 5 of them for BoD public relations clone, castrated of any influence over things, is beyond me.
---

Of course, it's always possible, that there is Very Important Role for Council, alongside BoD - in such case, please, explain (question to current Council). As for now, it doesn't look as something to be kept after handover, at all.

/Estel
  •  Reply

Re: Last Call for Council Nominations And Bylaw Review

Lucas Maneos
Karma: 228
2012-09-27 10:34 UTC
On Thu, Sep 27, 2012 at 09:42:44AM +0200, twilight312@gmail.com wrote:
> Personally, I see lack of candidates for Maemo Council as obvious thing -
> after all, we're going to have Board of Directors, which, for all intents and
> purposes, is Council with elevated permissions (powers).

It shouldn't be that at all. The board's duty is to run the organisation,
obtain and manage funding, manage the maemo.org handover, make agreements
for hosting and other services etc. Even if they want to, they probably
won't have much time to deal with day-to-day community things.

> That part is OK, and I'm not criticizing it. What I'm sceptical about, is
> keeping Council at all - as separate, strange, powerless "something".

It was always powerless ;-) The Council's mission is to "represent the Maemo
community's best interests, and to act as a community conduit for
Nokia-generated information"[1]. Just s/Nokia/Hildon Foundation/ when Nokia
walks away.

L.

[1] http://wiki.maemo.org/Community_Council

  •  Reply

Re: Last Call for Council Nominations And Bylaw Review

Piotr Jawidzyk
Karma: 957
2012-09-27 10:43 UTC
On czw 27 wrz 2012 12:34:53 CEST, Lucas Maneos <maemo@subs.maneos.org> wrote:

> On Thu, Sep 27, 2012 at 09:42:44AM +0200, twilight312@gmail.com wrote:
> > Personally, I see lack of candidates for Maemo Council as obvious
> > thing - after all, we're going to have Board of Directors, which, for
> > all intents and purposes, is Council with elevated permissions
> > (powers).
>
> It shouldn't be that at all.  The board's duty is to run the
> organisation, obtain and manage funding, manage the maemo.org handover,
> make agreements for hosting and other services etc.  Even if they want
> to, they probably won't have much time to deal with day-to-day community
> things.
>
> > That part is OK, and I'm not criticizing it. What I'm sceptical about,
> > is keeping Council at all - as separate, strange, powerless
> > "something".
>
> It was always powerless ;-)  The Council's mission is to "represent the
> Maemo community's best interests, and to act as a community conduit for
> Nokia-generated information"[1].  Just s/Nokia/Hildon Foundation/ when
> Nokia walks away.
>
> L.
>
> [1] http://wiki.maemo.org/Community_Council

Sure, that's they theory. Yet, in practice, we had ~240 people voting during last election, and probably, something like ~100 this time.

In such situation, do You really think, that we need 5 person body to represent Community interest to Board of Directors?

Well, considering, how Hildon Foundation is created, it's quite natural, that BoD is representing Community (Hildon's Foundation Community), and there is no need for middle-man, unless we want to create "positions" just for the sake of it. It's the thing, that count for 0 candidates for Council, in my opinion. After all, we have candidates for BoD (only two as for now, but still).

BTW, I'm aware that Council was "powerless" always - again, in theory. Practice - including handover of infrastructure, that is currently ongoing, and maintained by Council - is quite different thing. And, to make things clear - as by "powerless", I mean influence on Maemo, at all - not some "powergames", etc. It's just that current "powers" (aka representing Community) goes naturaly and seamlesly into BoD.

/Estel
  •  Reply

Re: Last Call for Council Nominations And Bylaw Review

RM Bauer
Karma: 554
2012-09-27 12:26 UTC
It's beginning to look like there won't be enough candidates for maemo
council. In that case, the council election gets extended a month.
Mandating council as part of the nonprofit governance may then become a
moot issue. Note that council or other similar body can still be put in
place at the nonprofit later on.

We should move past this. The real issue is the number of bodies willing
to volunteer and the skills they can bring (which btw those w/ skills other
than software dev are needed as well).

Rob

On Thu, Sep 27, 2012 at 6:43 AM, twilight312@gmail.com <
twilight312@gmail.com> wrote:

> **
>
> On czw 27 wrz 2012 12:34:53 CEST, Lucas Maneos <maemo@subs.maneos.org>
> wrote:
>
> > On Thu, Sep 27, 2012 at 09:42:44AM +0200, twilight312@gmail.com wrote:
> > > Personally, I see lack of candidates for Maemo Council as obvious
> > > thing - after all, we're going to have Board of Directors, which, for
> > > all intents and purposes, is Council with elevated permissions
> > > (powers).
> >
> > It shouldn't be that at all. The board's duty is to run the
> > organisation, obtain and manage funding, manage the maemo.org handover,
> > make agreements for hosting and other services etc. Even if they want
> > to, they probably won't have much time to deal with day-to-day community
> > things.
> >
> > > That part is OK, and I'm not criticizing it. What I'm sceptical about,
> > > is keeping Council at all - as separate, strange, powerless
> > > "something".
> >
> > It was always powerless ;-) The Council's mission is to "represent the
> > Maemo community's best interests, and to act as a community conduit for
> > Nokia-generated information"[1]. Just s/Nokia/Hildon Foundation/ when
> > Nokia walks away.
> >
> > L.
> >
> > [1] http://wiki.maemo.org/Community_Council
>
> Sure, that's they theory. Yet, in practice, we had ~240 people voting
> during last election, and probably, something like ~100 this time.
>
> In such situation, do You really think, that we need 5 person body to
> represent Community interest to Board of Directors?
>
> Well, considering, how Hildon Foundation is created, it's quite natural,
> that BoD is representing Community (Hildon's Foundation Community), and
> there is no need for middle-man, unless we want to create "positions" just
> for the sake of it. It's the thing, that count for 0 candidates for
> Council, in my opinion. After all, we have candidates for BoD (only two as
> for now, but still).
>
> BTW, I'm aware that Council was "powerless" always - again, in theory.
> Practice - including handover of infrastructure, that is currently ongoing,
> and maintained by Council - is quite different thing. And, to make things
> clear - as by "powerless", I mean influence on Maemo, at all - not some
> "powergames", etc. It's just that current "powers" (aka representing
> Community) goes naturaly and seamlesly into BoD.
>
> /Estel
>
>
>
>

  •  Reply